Costa Rica 2014: Alajuela

One day and a few hours after flying out of the Cedar Rapids airport, I have finally arrived – not to la Peninsula de Osa, where I had planned to be tonight, but to Alajuela, Costa Rica, where I’ll spend one day before taking a rebooked flight to Puerto Jimenez tomorrow morning. A lengthy delay at ORD yesterday turned into spending the night in Miami after having missed the last flight to Costa Rica, and although I was able to get on the first flight out this morning, it didn’t save me from missing my next flight. Still – I’m in Costa Rica now, and that’s progress. Staying at a sweet little posada in downtown Alajuela sure beats the hell out of the Miami airport Best Western (seriously, American Airlines??). And sitting here by the pool on the back patio, which I have completely to myself, except for the speedy little gecko that’s running up and down on the wall to my right, I can’t help but think this might not be such a terrible start to my trip, after all. Granted, I’ve had some stressful moments during the various delays and itinerary changes, and I’ll admit to being a little peeved about the extra expense that all this has occasioned. I’m already off-schedule, more than a full day behind, and instead of lounging on the Pacific coast this afternoon, I found myself in a city I don’t know with no phone, no internet, and no hotel reservation, scrambling to find a place to stay. But this is what travel is all about, isn’t it? Learning to adapt, remaining open to change, embracing the journey itself. Within an hour or so, I did find a place to stay, even if I probably paid more than I should have for it. And then I took a well-deserved nap, set out to explore the city, saw some parrots cawing at the throngs of people in the plaza from on top of a nearby roof, and had a nice dinner at an outdoor vegetarian cafe. All things considered, it’s been a pretty nice day after all, and Puerto Jimenez will still be there tomorrow.

image

2 thoughts on “Costa Rica 2014: Alajuela

    1. Come with me next time! Or make Steve take you. It’s beautiful here, and the people are wonderful. You’d love it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

